top of page

Preview for the 2024 MAC Basketball Tournament

Check out a preview for the 2024 MAC Tournament with championship odds, opening round matchups, past champions, postseason honors and regular season standings! Akron Zips star forward and MAC Player of the Year Enrique Freeman, Bowling Green Falcons guard Marcus Hill and Toledo Rockets guard Ra’Heim Moss headline the 2024 MAC First Team. Toledo finished atop the standings for a fourth straight season and will open the annual event as the top seed but Akron is the current favorite!

Championship Odds:

1. Akron (+170)

2. Ohio (+300)

3. Toledo (+300)

4. Kent State (+900)

5. Bowling Green (+1500)

6. Central Michigan (+2000)

7. Miami (+2000)

8. Western Michigan (+5000)

Conference Standings:

1. Toledo (20-11, 14-4)

2. Akron (21-10, 13-5)

3. Ohio (19-12, 13-5)

4. Central Michigan (18-13, 12-6)

5. Bowling Green (19-12, 10-8)

6. Western Michigan (12-19, 9-9)

7. Miami (15-16, 9-9)

8. Kent State (15-16, 8-10)

First Round Matchups:

#1 Toledo vs #8 Kent State

#2 Akron vs #7 Miami

#3 Ohio vs #6 Western Michigan

#4 Central Michigan vs #5 Bowling Green

All-MAC Awards:

Player of the Year: Enrique Freeman (Akron)

Coach of the Year: Tony Barbee (Central Michigan)

Defensive Players of the Year: Anthony Pritchard (Central Michigan) and Tyler Cochran (Toledo)

Freshman of the Year: Javan Simmons (Toledo)

All-MAC First Team:

Anthony Pritchard (Central Michigan guard)

Marcus Hill (Bowling Green guard)

Ra’Heim Moss (Toledo guard)

Ali Ali (Akron forward)

Enrique Freeman (Akron forward)

All-MAC Second Team:

Jaylin Hunter (Ohio guard)

Dante Maddox Jr (Toledo guard)

Tyler Cochran (Toledo guard)

Rashaun Agee (Bowling Green forward)

Basheer Jihad (Ball State center)

All-MAC Third Team:

Jalen Sullinger (Kent State guard)

David Coit (Northern Illinois guard)

Tyson Acuff (Eastern Michigan guard)

Brian Taylor (Central Michigan forward)

AJ Clayton (Ohio forward)

All-MAC Freshman Team:

Sonny Wilson (Toledo guard)

Will Lovings-Watts (Northern Illinois guard)

Eian Elmer (Miami forward)

Javan Simmons (Toledo forward)

Arne Osojnik (Eastern Michigan forward)

MAC Championship Games:

2012: Ohio over Akron

2013: Akron over Ohio

2014: Western Michigan over Toledo

2015: Buffalo over Central Michigan

2016: Buffalo over Akron

2017: Kent State over Akron

2018: Buffalo over Toledo

2019: Buffalo over Bowling Green

2020: Cancelled due to COVID

2021: Ohio over Buffalo

2022: Akron over Kent State

2023: Kent State over Toledo

Keep up with my most recent content on Cincy on the Prowl and Dunking with Wolves, plus make sure to follow me on Twitter and YouTube!

Photo Credit: MAC Tournament.


Recent Posts
bottom of page