top of page

Akron outlasts Kent State in 2024 MAC Tournament championship

A thrilling finish capped off the 2024 MAC Tournament as the Akron Zips took down the Kent State Golden Flashes 62-61 in the championship game on Saturday night at Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse in Cleveland. Akron knocked down a pair of free throws in the final seconds to forge ahead and eventually secure a second conference championship in the last three seasons. Cleveland native and 2024 MAC Player of the Year Enrique Freeman earned MVP honors after averaging 23.7 points, 14.0 rebounds and 4.0 blocks per game in the annual event. Freeman racked up 24 points to go with a MAC Tournament record 21 rebounds in a semifinal win on Friday evening.

All-MAC Tournament Team:

Jalen Sullinger (Kent State guard)

Jaylin Hunter (Ohio guard)

Ali Ali (Akron forward)

VonCameron Davis (Kent State forward)

Enrique Freeman (Akron forward)

Keep up with my most recent content on Cincy on the Prowl and Dunking with Wolves, plus make sure to follow me on Twitter and YouTube!

Photo Credit: Akron Beacon Journal.


Recent Posts
bottom of page